Lunch

I work in a busy environment and frankly, most days I’d rather escape the office and go out to a nearby restaurant for a quiet and relaxing lunch. I understand the desire to get a break. What I can’t stand, however, is the actual cost of eating out every day. At an average of $10 per lunch, and that’s factoring in a Wendy’s every now and then, the cost doesn’t make sense to me.

You can eat and also get a break if you change your habits. Take leftovers to work, or keep a variety sandwich fixings so that you can make your lunch quickly. Cans of soup can be stored in a drawer. Hot dogs heat up fast, too. Spend a few minutes eating, then get outside and go for a walk. If the weather isn’t agreeable, find a staircase and walk up and down a time or two to get some exercise.

Change your scenery even for a few minutes, get some fresh air and clear your head. Take a book outside, call a friend or family member, and disconnect from work. Eat some fruit or vegetables, rather than a sugary snack. Drink water.

When you get back to work, you may actually feel like you had more of a break than if you’d gone to a restaurant. I know that on the days I take leftovers, I am always grateful I took the time to cook the night before.

NDQ

Leave a Reply

