Lunch ideas

Now that I am forced to take my own lunch to work each day, planning ahead extremely important. If I fail to plan, I will not have anything to eat. I don’t know about you, but I don’t work well when I’m hungry.

I do like some variety, but generally eat the same meal a few days in a row just to use up the leftovers. The basic meal is a sandwich, a side, chips or cracker, then a cookie (or two). I do keep a few emergency cans of Progresso soup just in case I fall off the planning-ahead wagon. Here’s a list of foods I’ve made in the past few weeks:

Sandwiches:

BLT, egg salad, roast beef, and chicken salad. Deli meats at the grocery are perfect, of course. This past week I had some peppery turkey on an onion roll. Even three days straight, it was delicious.

Sides:

Lettuce mix and dressing, dip and crackers, pudding, and pasta salad (homemade).

Now that I am into a routine of planning and packing, taking lunch every day has been easy. I look forward to a meal I know I will enjoy and maybe knowing that I am saving so much money makes the food taste even better.

In the near future, I will have a small refrigerator in my office. That will open up an entirely new array of options for lunching well and saving money.

NDQ

Leave a Reply

