Wallets, purses, backpacks and pockets

How often do you clean out your wallet or purse? When you come home at night, where do you empty your pockets? Do you carry a backpack or satchel or briefcase that you keep adding to, but never clean out for six months? Is your purse getting so full you can’t find what you are looking for?

At least weekly, clean out these carry alongs so that you are only toting about the items you really need. Each time I do this, I find a few dollar bills and lots of coins. I keep a jar where all this money gets contained so that I can see it add up. If I find a coin around the house, it also goes into the jar. But purses and backpacks can become catchalls for lots of things and before you know it, there are a dozen pen and pencils, important receipts and irreplaceable pictures being carried around daily.

A few months ago, I began a new job that prohibits much of this stuff being brought to work because of security reasons. It has opened my eyes to a few things. First, most of what I used to carry I do not need. Ever. Second, a lot of what I carried would have been inconvenient to lose if the bag had ever been lost or stolen. Yikes. Now, the only items I need can be contained in two pockets in my slacks while everything else is stored safely at home.

NDQ

Leave a Reply

