Wealth Building and the Purple Cow

With everything I read, I aim to apply the message to saving and buying income-producing assets. Today I am reading Purple Cow: Transform Your Business By Being Remarkable by Seth Godin (2002). How can a book about marketing help us increase our wealth?

Godin’s thesis is that while the first cow is interesting, the hundredth cow is not. In order to get people’s attention when cows are everywhere is to create a purple cow — it’s different, it gets attention because it is new and interesting.

How can we apply this to our investing plan? In order to build great wealth quickly, we know we have to live differently than our peers. While everyone else is buying the newest electronics and bigger houses, we are driving cars with more than 100,000 miles and don’t plan on exchanging that car until it surpasses 200k. We enjoy hand-me-down TVs, we don’t pay for commercial programming, and we eat meals at home and take leftovers to work for lunch. Our colleagues, on the other hand, are out enjoying sit-down lunches with sangrias.

Being different isn’t easy. Being remarkable? It’s a long road to early retirement and the road can be bumpy at times. Sure, our friends might feel more comfortable on a daily basis and think they are enjoying their lives to the fullest, but knowing that I am stashing thousands and building for my future, I likely sleep better at night than most of the people I know.

The crazy thing is, I find that the more I cut out of my life the happier and more comfortable I am. To me, that is remarkable.

NDQ

p.s. Check out the new NDQ Guide: 500 Tips the guide that will give you actionable steps to jump start your savings and investing immediately.

Leave a Reply

