New Year, New Fear

The weeks leading up to 2017 were filled with emotions. Depending on who you listen to, 2017 will either be the lead up to greatness or the end of everything we value.

There’s a lot of fear in the air, and a great deal of uncertainty mixed with angst.

My plan to deal with this is to re-commit to my save-to-invest game plan for early retirement. I’m reminding myself of the basics: use less, eliminate waste, put all savings into an investment account to buy assets.

Before buying my first multi-family property, I was focussed on the game plan with laser vision. Since the purchase and moving in, dealing with tenants and maintenance…it’s been easy a on several occasions to spend more than I needed to because it was easier and convenient. Now that I am regrouping and getting back on the fast-track to saving-to-invest, I will be looking at every expense category to see where I can cut back, spend less or do without. The building will continue to be maintained, and we will still eat well, but I’ll be cutting down waste and consuming less.

I have also started a fund for the next NDQ HQ vehicle since the current chariot has started its decline. It’s 10 years old and nearing 100k miles. It should last longer, but that doesn’t appear likely. I’m setting aside several hundred dollars each month so that I’ll be able to pay cash when it is time to buy, rather than wasting money on loan interest.

So 2017, whatever it brings, will still find me running my own race: I’m competing only against myself and the clock. My goal is to retire in the summer of 2022. That’s 5.5 short years. What’s your plan?

NDQ

p.s. Check out the new NDQ Guide: 500 Tips the guide that will give you actionable steps to jump start your savings and investing immediately.

You may also enjoy:

Leave a Reply

