Summertime ~ Is the livin’ easy?

It’s been four months since last posting on NDQ…and the true confession is that the blog is pretty low on the priority list here at NDQ HQ. What’s at the top? Managing the money, moving all the extras into investments and then working like a dog to find more to save.

Now that summer and the heat are settled in, here’s some insight into what’s been happening and how we have adjusted.

First, the multi-family property is doing well and the tenants are all paying on time and behaving themselves. In fact, it’s even better than that. In the past six months, a community has developed and it has been wonderful. Next month, we are even extending a lease another year because the resident can’t imagine living anywhere else.

Next, the day job continues to grow and offer new challenges. However, those challenges involve more time and effort, so it seems that each day is more exhausting than the one prior. We still squeeze in regular exercise since that seems to have numerous health benefits, which keeps medical expenses down. That is a worthwhile investment!

The biggest expense we faced was the need to purchase a new vehicle since the old one was about to take its last breath. Fortunately, due to our saving and investment strategy of the past few years, an all-cash purchase was made on a well-negotiated deal. Everyone is happy with the new car and since it is a hybrid, we are saving money on gas and insurance. Life is good.

So, now let’s touch on the crappy parts, OK? My employer generally gives a very low annual raise to all employees. This year, while it isn’t zero, it is very close. So close to zero that it is terribly depressing and demoralizing. It hasn’t changed my commitment to my work, in fact, because I know the work I do is important to the people I serve and the taxpayers who benefit, I may be even more committed than ever. But, it does reinforce my mission to find money and stability outside my employer. While having a day job give me medical benefits and vehicles for investment, it cannot be my sole source of income. I am grateful that I have this plan in motion and that a low annual raise doesn’t define me or limit me.

What little raise I see will of course get re-routed into investments — I will never see it on my paycheck and never spend it regardless of how little it is. What I will also do is find more money that I can re-direct so that I will figure out how to save even more, such as the gas money we are now saving by driving a hybrid.

NDQ

p.s. Check out the new NDQ Guide: 500 Tips the guide that will give you actionable steps to jump start your savings and investing immediately.

You may also enjoy:

Leave a Reply

