Exercise can save you thousands of dollars

A study published in the Journal of the American Heart Association and reported in today’s USA Today, claims that by exercising regularly a person can save up to $2,500 annually in healthcare expenditures.

Maybe we knew that a healthier lifestyle had benefits, but tacking a dollar amount to this certainly helps make the case in favor of devoting time to regular exercise.

Personally, I hate working out. I do it, but I’m not all that excited about it. I joined the local YMCA late last year and as you can guess, paying a monthly fee for anything feels like tossing money down the drain. But still, after several weeks of regular attendance and sweat, I was feeling better and sleeping better. I found that I was rarely taking Tylenol for aches and pains. At my day job, I took the stairs with gusto and after running up two flights, I wasn’t winded — but energized!

I started the exercise program because I felt my days were too sedentary and that I needed to be concerned with my cardio health. I only saw it at an expense and an inconvenience. Today, I am seeing it as an investment. It is a new way to save money each year in addition to extending my life. I work diligently to save and invest, to retire on my own terms and enjoy life. Working out four days each week is ensuring I’ll have a better quality of life now and in the future.

NDQ

Leave a Reply

